low light mixes header image 1

low light mixes

Jun 2022

Soothing Sequencers by Paul Asbury Seaman

June 12, 2022


I am always pleased to present a new mix from Paul Asbury Seaman and this one is no exception. It's a great collection of sequencer tracks that hits the ideal vibe. Coming on the heels of my Stranger Synths mix, I was still in a electronic, sequencer mood and this mix kept me in that zone perfectly.

Here's what Paul says about this mix:

“For a lot of people, the term ‘electronic music’ still brings to mind the chaotic synthesizer experiments of its early years, highly abstract and moody ‘space music,’ or the techno dance music that grew out of a merger of ‘70s disco with ‘80s pop. Or the characteristically propulsive textures associated with em godfathers Klaus Schulze and Tangerine Dream, where a simple sequence of repeating notes provided both rhythm and melody. But some artists (including the aforementioned two) are able to infuse their beeping machines with warm emotions and heartfelt melodies, as presented here—a softer side of the electronic universe. If you like a steady, waterwheel flow and bell-like tones, this one’s for you.”

Paul mentions Klaus Schulze which is appropriate because we timed this mix to be posted just days after the release of the final Klaus Schulze album. I grabbed the last track from that album and made it the final track in this mix as one last tribute to Klaus.

Links to the albums used in this mix in the order in which they appear:




T R A C K L I S T :

  • 00:00    Andy Pickford - Temple of the Wonklord (RadioSilence: Objective Linearity 2022)
  • 07:52    Lars Leonhard - Moon Gravity (Gravity  2022)
  • 15:35    Mac of BIOnighT - Auralities (Auralities 2017)
  • 20:36    Klaus Schulze - Fm Delight (En=Trance 1988)
  • 28:00    Hollan Holmes - The River (Emerald Waters 2022)
  • 33:22    State Azure - Ricochet (Dreams 2020)
  • 41:45    Steve Roach - We Continue (Spiral Revelation 2016)
  • 48:45    SpiralDreams - Pearl in the Sand part1 (Journey to Infinity II 2021)
  • 54:30    Fritz Mayr - North Coast Night Lights (Milky Way 2021)
  • 59:42    Johan Tronestam - Home Sweet Home (Next Step 2021)
  • 66:06    Klaus Schulze - Der Hauch des Lebens Pt. 5 (Deus Arrakis 2022)
  • 71:14    end